Taxes & Duties


For orders shipping within the US, sales tax will be charged at checkout on orders shipping to the states below.

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Washington D.C., Wisconsin, Wyoming




When shopping in GBP or EUR, prices displayed on the website are inclusive of VAT.

For all other currencies, prices displayed on the website are not inclusive of any tax and will be added on once address is added in at check out.



Please note, the majority of items ship from the US and therefore will incur import taxes and duties depending on shipping location and destination. 

Taxes and duties depend on the laws of the location to which you are shipping and are determined by a number of factors, such as each product's origin, material composition, use, and final destination. Applicable import taxes and duties are calculated during checkout and based on the total merchandise value, after discounts or promotions have been applied.

Taxes and duties will be charged when your order ships. This means that for trunkshow orders, these amounts will be processed on the second payment.

All other non-customs-related local taxes are the customer’s responsibility, and Moda Operandi is not responsible for reporting or paying additional local taxes to states, such as Use Tax.

When shipping to countries outside of the US, most destinations are delivered on a DDP (Delivery Duty Paid) basis as outlined below, which means relevant import taxes and duties are calculated at checkout and processed by Moda Operandi once your order ships. If you are shipping on a DDU (Delivery Duty Unpaid) basis, import taxes and duties will not be paid through Moda Operandi. Instead, the shipping carrier will invoice you upon delivery of your merchandise.

DDP COUNTRIES: Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Andorra, Anguilla, Aruba, Antigua, Belgium, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bonaire, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Canada, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canary Islands, Cayman Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Curacao, Cyprus, Chile, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, French Guyana, Finland, Germany, Greece, Guernsey, Gabon, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guinea-Equatorial, Guyana, Hong Kong, Hungary, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jersey, Jamaica, Jordan, Kenya, Korea (South), Kuwait, Latvia, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Macau, Madagascar, Maldives, Mali, Martinique, Mauritius, Mayotte, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Nevis, New Caledonia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Peru, Philippines, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Poland, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Reunion, Island Of, Romania, Rwanda, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovenia, Slovakia, South Africa, South Sudan, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Sri Lanka, St. Barthelemy, St. Eustatius, St. Kitts, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Vincent, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Tanzania, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Vietnam, Virgin Islands, Zambia, Zimbabwe

DDU COUNTRIES: Afghanistan, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, American Samoa, Belarus, Cape Verde, Commonwealth no. Mariana Islands, Comoros, Cook Islands, Cote d'lvoire, Djibouti, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Greenland, Guam, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea Republic, Iraq, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Naura, Nepal, Netherlands Antilles, Niue, North Macedonia, Palau, Saint Helena, Saipan, Sao Tome and Principe, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Somaliland, Suriname, Tajikistan, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Western Samoa, Yemen


Kindly note that Moda Operandi can no longer support shipments to Russia.


Unfortunately, we are unable to refund duties and taxes for all countries. To see if you’re eligible for a refund, please reach out to You may be able to apply to your local customs authority for a refund of any returned products.